Racing Commission

Introduction to the Racing Commission

The Northern Territory Racing Commission is established under the Racing and Betting Act 1983.

Under section 3A the objects of the Act are to:

  • promote probity and integrity in racing and betting in the Territory
  • maintain the probity and integrity of persons engaged in racing and betting in the Territory
  • promote fairness, integrity and efficiency in the operations of persons engaged in racing and betting in the Territory
  • reduce any adverse social impact of betting.

The commission also conducts investigations into the operation of bookmakers and deals with disputes. If you are unhappy with a bookmaker go to the Northern Territory Government website to make a complaint.

Powers and functions

The commission's powers and functions are set out under sections 17 and 18 of the Racing and Betting Act.

The commission conducts investigations into the operation of bookmakers and deals with disputes between punters and bookmakers.

Members

The Commission is comprised of a person appointed by the Minister for Racing, Gaming and Licensing to be Chairperson and four to five members.

Members are selected for their knowledge and experience of the racing industry in the Territory. The members are:

  • Alastair Shields (Chairperson)
  • Cindy Bravos
  • Amy Corcoran
  • James Pratt
  • Kristopher Evans

Meeting dates

Below are the commission 2021 meeting dates:

  • Tuesday 2 February 2021
  • Tuesday 2 March 2021
  • Thursday 8 April 2021
  • Thursday 6 May 2021
  • Tuesday 1 June 2021
  • Wednesday 12 May 2021
  • Tuesday 6 July 2021
  • Thursday 5 August 2021
  • Thursday 2 September 2021
  • Tuesday 5 October 2021
  • Thursday 4 November 2021
  • Thursday 2 December 2021

Please note: The close off period for matters to be tabled is two weeks before the meeting date. Notification of decisions are subject to settlement of the meeting minutes. Notifications should be available one week after the scheduled date.

Contact

Northern Territory Racing Commission
Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade
Level 3, NAB Building
71 Smith Street
Darwin NT 0800

PO Box 1154
Darwin NT 0801

Phone: 08 8999 1800
racing.commission@nt.gov.au

Print all pages in this section


Last updated: 02 September 2021

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!