Congratulations NT Rural Women’s Award winner – Zoe Malone


Darwin resident Zoe Malone was awarded the 2019 Northern Territory AgriFuturesTM Rural Women’s Award at a ceremony at Parliament House on Wednesday 27 March.

Zoe recognised that many grassroots community groups struggle to keep up with increasing governance and accountability demands, and received a $10,000 Westpac bursary to bring to fruition a project to provide tools and information to grassroots organisations that will empower volunteers and community groups to take charge of their governance.

Zoe has lived in Darwin for more than 10 years, but previously spent most of her life in rural and regional Australia. She is passionate about the role people and communities play in creating strong and vibrant regions.

The national AgriFuturesTM Rural Women’s Award winner will be announced in Canberra later this year and Zoe will represent the Northern Territory as a national finalist.

In addition to the Westpac bursary, State and Territory winners gain access to professional development opportunities and alumni networks.

There was an extremely strong field of NT finalists for this year’s award, and congratulations also go to Donna Digby from Alice Springs, and Rebecca Mohr-Bell from Mathison Station in Victoria Daly.

Donna proposed a business development and leadership program, InvestHER, to help women in remote Australia build their business and leadership skills, capabilities and confidence.

Rebecca identified a lack of financial literacy and business skills amongst young people working on farms and in regional communities and proposed to explore incentives, training packages and initiatives to teach financial literacy to young people in an engaging and relevant way.

The AgriFutures™ Rural Women’s Award acknowledges and supports the essential role that women play in rural industries, businesses and communities.

The award is coordinated in the Northern Territory by the Department of Primary Industry and Resources.

More information about the award is available on the department’s website.

Donna Digby, Zoe Malone, Rebecca Mohr-Bell
Donna Digby, Zoe Malone, Rebecca Mohr-Bell

Share this page:

URL copied!