Mining securities

All mining activities authorised (licenced) under the Mining Management Act 2001 are required to lodge a security with the Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade. The purpose of the security is for the payment of costs if action needs to be taken by the government to prevent, minimise or rectify environmental harm caused by mining activities on or off the mining site or for completion of rehabilitation. The amount of security is based on the amount of disturbance likely to be caused by the mining activities carried out under the authorisation, subject to the approved mining management plan.

Site Current operator Authorisation number Security held (as at 03 May 2022)
Gove Operations RTA Gove Pty Ltd 0035-02 $974,231,600
Bootu Creek Manganese Project OM (Manganese) Ltd 0011-04 $11,672,900
Cosmo Project NT Mining Operations Pty Ltd 0546-03 $6,379,893
Dhupuma Plateau Bauxite Mine Gulkula Mining Company Pty Ltd 0929-01 $581,248
Edna Beryl Mine Edna Berryl Mining Company Pty Ltd 0880-01 $53,250
Gemco Mine Groote Eylandt Mining Company Pty Ltd 0126-01 $128,275,995
McArthur River Mine McArthur River Mining Pty Ltd 0059 $405,116,668
SILL80 Roper Project Australian Ilmenite Resources Pty Ltd 0721-01 $891,151
The Granites Gold Mine Newmont Tanami Pty Ltd 0086-02 $40,633,648
Nathan River Project NRR Services Pty Ltd 1062-01 $5,661,549
Lithium Developments (Grants NT) Pty Ltd Grants Lithium Project 1021-01 $3,720,639

Note: The department currently holds a total of $1,629,122,740.78 in mining securities. Securities held against individual mining authorisations can be obtained on written application addressed to the manager mining register by emailing, last updated 03 May 2022.

Last updated: 03 May 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!