Aboriginal fisheries consultative committees

These two fisheries consultative committees hold meetings twice yearly with a strong focus on outcomes for Indigenous people:

  • Iwaidja Armurduk Management Committee (Minini/Murgenella)
  • Wurrahiliba Management Committee (Borroloola).

Government and industry also attend various Indigenous Protected Area steering committee meetings around the Territory with a focus on fisheries management. They provide an opportunity for government, traditional owners and the fishing industry to discuss fisheries management issues and initiatives as well as economic development opportunities.

Meeting participation includes:

  • Fisheries Division
  • Water police
  • NT Seafood Council
  • Amateur Fishermen’s Association of the NT
  • Traditional Owners
  • local ranger groups and wherever possible, the relevant land council.

Other agencies both Territory and Commonwealth as required.

During the 1990s there were up to seven of these committees regularly meeting. 

Some outcomes from these committees can be seen in the Customary Fisheries Management paper.

Last updated: 03 March 2016

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!