Frequently asked questions

Below are some of the most common questions applicants ask about the Northern Territory (NT) Training Awards.

How do I nominate for the awards?

Nominate for the 2021 NT Training Awards

Who can nominate for the awards?

Individuals and organisations can nominate themselves, providing they meet the eligibility criteria.

Nominations in all categories are welcome from vocational education and training (VET) providers, employers and industry, other organisations and groups in the VET system as well as individuals and the wider community.

If a nominee is being put forward by another party / person, that party / person should ensure that the nominee meets the eligibility criteria for the award, that they are aware they are being nominated, and are willing to participate in the awards process.

If the nominated person accepts the nomination, they must complete their answers to the criteria personally. The nominator may assist the nominee if necessary.

What can I win?

The winner of each award category will receive a framed certificate, trophy and prize money. The runner-up will receive a framed certificate and prize money. All finalists will receive a framed certificate.These are good, and nothing beats the fact that you can call yourself and be recognised as one of the best apprentices, trainees, vocational students, VET teacher / trainers, employers or registered training organisations in the Territory.

Is there any cost involved in applying?

No. There is no application fee for any award. The only costs involved are related to time and effort required to complete the nomination and address the assessment criteria, and taking the time to attend activities and events.

Can an individual or organisation (for example, training provider, employer) submit more than one application?

Individuals can only apply for one award and must not accept any nomination for any similar award in another state or territory in the nominating year.

Organisations may apply for more than one category provided they meet the eligibility criteria and clearly differentiate the information in their application for each category.

Can part of an organisation apply?

In the case of employers and training providers with activities in more than one state, only the training activities in the NT will be considered for the award.

Where an organisation has more than one workplace in the NT it must choose to apply as a Territory-wide business or as an individual workplace. If an organisation applies as an individual workplace it must lodge separate applications for each workplace that may decide to apply.

In the case of registered training organisations, the head office must be based in the NT and the application should be for the entire NT operation, not one campus or location.

Can previous winners apply again?

Yes. Previous winners and finalists may nominate or be nominated again, if they still meet the eligibility requirements.

I finished my training contract and have moved to another employer. Can I still be nominated?

Yes, you can be nominated by your previous employer or by your training provider, or you could nominate yourself.

I’m of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander descent. Which award should I apply for?

You may apply for either the Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year Award, or for the Austin Asche Apprentice, Trainee or Vocational Student of the Year Award, depending on the kind of study you are doing. You must choose which category to apply for and may only apply in one category.

Yes, you do need to provide evidence of your qualification with your nomination, however plain photocopies are acceptable, as long as the information on the documents can be read. These documents are included in the number of pages you are allowed to submit as your nomination.

Who is on the judging panels?

Panels consist of training specialists, VET practitioners, industry members, NT and Australian government representatives, previous award winners and sponsor representatives. People with appropriate experience and expertise are selected for every category. Panels usually have three members and an executive officer. Care is taken to make sure there is a balance of gender and backgrounds. The decisions of the judging panels are final.

What are the judges looking for in a winner?

Judging at the Territory level is about finding a quality group of finalists who can demonstrate their achievements, share their stories about training and step into the role of encouraging others to take up the challenge of training.

To find each category winner, judgements will also be made on future potential as ambassadors for the Territory and at the national level at the Australian Training Awards to represent the success that is possible through the VET sector in the NT.

If I'm a winner or finalist will I get my picture in the paper?

Winners and finalists are ambassadors for the NT training system. They receive a good deal of media attention, particularly in local media.

The Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade may use photographs and non-confidential information from the applications in its print and electronic publications. The application form includes a talent release for this purpose.

As an organisation, if we win can we advertise our achievement?

Winners and finalists in the organisational categories are encouraged to promote themselves as a 'Winner / Finalist NT (category award) of the Year ....' in their print and electronic publications until August of the following year.

Can I request feedback on my application if I'm not successful in the awards?

You can request feedback on your nomination. However the organisers ask that you request this feedback within two weeks of notification that you have been unsuccessful.

Last updated: 08 March 2021

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!