2017 NT Rural Women's Award Winner

Long-term Territorian Kate Peake won the 2017 NT Rural Women’s Award for her project around local water stewardship.

Kate is passionate about local water stewardship and her project for the awards focused on the development of stakeholder-endorsed communications and strategies to foster sustainable water use across the Darwin region.

As the 2017 winner, Kate deceived a $10,000 bursary to support her project, and she represented the NT at the Australian Rural Women’s Award.

The Rural Women’s Award is a prestigious annual award recognising the contribution of women in our primary industries and rural communities.

Other finalists for the 2017 NT awards were all inspiring women who have excelled in their field.

  • Dr Mila Bristow a plant industries researcher with the Department of Primary Industry and Resources. Her project focused on raising interstate awareness about agricultural opportunities in the NT.
  • Mrs Helen Guyupul is involved in wellness programs on Elcho Island which focus on improving the health and wellbeing of Yolngu people.

Visit the AgriFutures Australia website for more information on the 2018 Rural  Women's Award.

Last updated: 26 September 2017

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!