Mineral Development Taskforce

The Mineral Development Taskforce helps drive mining development in the Northern Territory (NT).

It plays a leading role in exploring strategy, policy, and regulatory options to:

  • drive private investment in mineral projects
  • help responsible growth of mining and downstream industries.

The mining and energy sector in the NT:

  • contributes 24.1% of the gross state product
  • employs over 4,400 people
  • is expected to deliver more jobs and have an average economic growth of 2.7% in the financial years from 2021 to 2023
  • had a total value of $4.3 billion for mineral production.

Get a print-friendly brochure PDF (5.3 MB).


The taskforce has 10 members (including the chair) made up of government, industry and private sector experts. This includes:

Shaun Drabsch

Shaun is the Chief Executive Officer of the Northern Territory Government’s Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade.

He has extensive experience in government and private enterprise. This includes the development and implementation of:

  • economic policy
  • infrastructure
  • major investment projects.

Tanya Constable

Tania is the Chief Executive Officer of the Minerals Council of Australia.


  • has extensive background in the resources and energy sector, having held many senior executive roles in the Australian Government
  • is proud to promote and advocate for a strong, vibrant and innovative minerals industry in Australia.

Tom Seymour

Tom is the Chief Executive Officer of Pricewaterhouse Coopers (PwC).

He has more than 25 years’ experience on taxation matters, particularly in the industry of:

  • infrastructure
  • mining
  • energy.

Over his career, he has led PwC teams on some of Australia’s largest public and private transactions

Joe Martin-Jard

Joe is the Chief Executive Officer of the Northern Land Council.

His qualifications in education and business, combined with his background in the public service and private sector has seen him create change on:

  • Aboriginal employment
  • economic development
  • community services.

Bryan Quinn

Bryan was the former BHP President.

He has:

  • over 25 years of industry experience and was the previous president of non-operated joint ventures for BHP
  • held various executive and nonexecutive role across Australia and internationally.

Michelle Croker

Michelle is the Head of Onshore Resources Division in the Australian Government's Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources.

She has:

  • over 20 years’ experience in the Australian Government across a range of portfolios
  • worked on gas, energy efficiency, industry, tourism and environment issues.

Phil Gorey

Phil is the Deputy Director General of Resource and Environmental Regulation in the Government of Western Australia's Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety.

He has:

  • experience in policy, planning and regulation for natural resource development
  • worked in technical and policy roles relating to  natural resource management and development in the:
    • state government
    • private sector.

Sharna Glover

Sharna is the Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of Imvelo.ai.


  • holds a first-class double degree in chemical engineering and science, as well as a doctorate in engineering
  • is an experienced executive leader with a 20-year track record of successfully leading step-change technology programs.

John Braham

John is the Independent Director of Castile Resources Ltd.


  • is an experienced mining finance and investment professional
  • had a 24-year career at Macquarie Bank, including as an Executive Director within the mining finance division.

His mining finance experiences extends across Australia and internationally.

David Carland

David is the Company Director and Co-founder of BurnVoir Corporate Finance.

He is an investment banker with over 40 years experience in the private and government sectors. This is in relation to the structuring, financing and development of energy and resources projects.

He has held senior positions at UBS, Bankers Trust and CRA (now Rio Tinto). He was also recently the non-executive chairman of Rex Minerals.

Last updated: 27 April 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!