Liquor Commission

Liquor Commission members

The Liquor Commission consists of at least four appointed members, with three members (chairperson and two members - one with a health background) required to be in attendance for a hearing.

The chairperson must be a lawyer with a minimum of five years post-admission experience and be of good standing in the community. The deputy chairperson shares the same qualifications as the chairperson, and also enjoys good standing in the legal profession. The deputy chairperson stands in as the chairperson from time to time, when needed.

At least one sitting member must have a health background.

The minister can also appoint others to the commission if satisfied that they have the appropriate knowledge, experience and expertise to make a valuable contribution.

A list of current members follows:

Chairperson -
Richard Coates
With over 40 years’ experience as a lawyer, Richard was previously the Director of Public Prosecutions, Chief Executive Officer of the Department of Justice, Director of the Northern Territory (NT) Legal Aid Commission, NT Magistrate and Principal Lawyer at Central Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service (CAALAS) in Alice Springs.
Deputy chairperson -
Jodi Truman
Jodi is a local long-term barrister who has undertaken litigation practice with specialisation in criminal and family law. Currently, Jodi is a legal member for the Mental Health Review Tribunal and a qualified Family Dispute Resolution practitioner, as well as a qualified Arbitrator under the Family Law Act 1975.
Russell Goldflam Russell is the Principal Legal Officer at NT Legal Aid Commission in Alice Springs.
Dr Rob Parker Dr Parker is the President of Australian Medical Association NT and works at NT Government’s Department of Health. Dr Parker has extensive experience in the NT health sector, particularly with regards to the effects of alcohol on Aboriginal people.
Pauline Lewis As the current Chief Executive Officer of Barkly Region Alcohol and Drug Abuse Advisory Group, Pauline is a registered nurse with post graduate qualifications in health, alcohol studies, and addiction. Pauline is highly experienced in drug and alcohol treatment in the NT.
Sandra Cannon Sandra has significant senior level experience within local councils in four different states. She has spent many years living in remote communities across the NT.
Amy Corcoran Amy worked as a commercial lawyer for six years, and then for eight years as the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Hotels Association NT. She has a good understanding of the hospitality industry from both a regulatory and operational perspective.
Blair McFarland Blair is the Co-Manager of Central Australian Youth Link Up Service with 30 years’ experience in addressing substance abuse as well as experience with the correctional services.
Christine Hart Christine is a long-term Pine Creek resident with with 47 years’ experience in the Australian public service and NT public service.
On 31 October 2018, the Attorney-General and Minister for Justice appointed Dr Phillip Carson as a health member.
Prof Phillip Carson Dr Carson is a longstanding member of the medical profession in the NT. He practices as a specialist general surgeon in Darwin and is an Associate Professor of Surgery with the Flinders NT Medical Program.
On 5 June 2019 the Attorney-General and Minister for Justice appointed Elizabeth Stephenson as a health member.
Elizabeth Stephenson Elizabeth has been employed in Darwin, Nhulunbuy and Maningrida in the conduct of clinical duties since 1995 including clients with tuberculosis and leprosy.
Bernard Dwyer Bernard has worked in the field of alcohol and other drugs and mental health service provision for over 40 years, with more than 30 years' service in the NT.
On 6 November 2019, the Attorney-General and Minister for Justice appointed Bernard John Dwyer as a health member.

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 02 July 2021

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!