Barramundi Fishery Management Advisory Committee

Established on 19 July 2021 under section 24 of the Fisheries Act 1988 to provide advice to the Executive Director, Fisheries and Minister for Agribusiness and Aquaculture on the development of a management framework and new Barramundi Fishery Management Plan.

The committee comprises an independent chair and individuals with a high level of experience and expertise in the fields of:

  • commercial fishing
  • recreational fishing
  • fishing tourism
  • Aboriginal traditional marine harvest
  • environmental science/conservation and
  • aquaculture.


  • Mr Ian Cartwright – independent chair
  • Mr Rob Fish – commercial fishing member
  • Mr David Ciaravolo – recreational fishing member
  • Mr Anthony Simms – fishing tourism member
  • Dr Peter Kyne and Dr Rachel Groom – conservation / scientific members
  • Mr Brenton Cardona, Mr Murray Knyvett and Mr Daniel Keynes – Aboriginal traditional fishery members
  • Ms Tarun Richards – aquaculture industry member

Next meeting

  • 1 and 2 December 2022


Barramundi Fishery Management Advisory Committee Secretariat
Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade

Phone: 08 8999 2100

Last updated: 24 October 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!