About us

The Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade was established in September 2020 as the Northern Territory Public Sector's coordinating agency for economic and industry development.

The department’s vision is to support achievement of a $40 billion economy by 2030, by balancing robust and efficient regulation, and sustainable and competitive industry growth strategies.

To achieve this for the Northern Territory, key industry sectors will need to grow, so working with our local businesses to ensure they have the capability and resources to meet our economic challenges is paramount.

The department supports industry development through globally competitive strategy, policy and promotion and delivers a regulatory framework that enables responsible growth, market access and stakeholder certainty. The department also fosters capability and capacity of business to be profitable, resilient and sustainable, advances research and innovation to bridge knowledge gaps, identifies opportunities and brokers solutions, harnesses opportunities to attract visitors, trade and commerce and promotes the value and strengths of the Territory, its people and regions.

The Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade is working to deliver upon the recommendations of the Territory Economic Reconstruction Commission, to support a strong economy that fosters a safe and healthy environment for all Territorians.

Our chief executive officer

Mr Shaun Drabsch

Portrait shot of Shaun Drabsch

Shaun joined the Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade (formerly Department of Trade, Business and Innovation) as the chief executive officer in February 2019.

His appointment follows more than three decades of  senior roles spanning the public and private sectors; where he has led the development and implementation of economic policy, infrastructure and major projects. These roles include the role as senior economic advisor to the former Queensland Premier Peter Beattie, the assistant coordinator general in Queensland and as chief of staff to a Federal Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy.

A keen development economist, Shaun has a passion for stimulating new investment to support stronger, more prosperous communities. He has significant experience in delivering projects in the infrastructure, resources and tourism sectors, as well as deep knowledge of parliament, cabinet and budget processes, land tenure, and corporate governance.

Shaun has an honours degree in economics, is a PhD candidate in the field of infrastructure project governance, an Executive Fellow of the Australia New Zealand School of Government, and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Our ministers

Hon Nicole Manison, MLA

  • Minister for Mining and Industry
  • Minister for Northern Australia and Trade
  • Minister for Tourism and Hospitality.

Hon Natasha Fyles, MLA

  • Minister for Alcohol Policy.

Hon Selena Uibo, MLA

  • Minister for Renewables and Energy.

Hon Paul Kirby, MLA

  • Minister for Business, Jobs and Training
  • Minister for Agribusiness and Fisheries.

Hon Chanston Paech, MLA

  • Minister for Racing, Gaming and Licensing
  • Minister for Desert Knowledge Australia.

Hon Ngaree Ah Kit, MLA

  • Minister for International Education.

Hon Eva Lawler, MLA

  • Minister for Territory Development

Our campaign website

Information is made available on a range of topics through our dedicated campaign websites.

View all of the department's campaign websites.

Our annual reports

View annual reports for the department prior to it being established.

Our organisational chart

Get the department's organisation chart PDF (212.5 KB).

Access to information

View the department’s statement of information

Last updated: 08 November 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!