## **Northern Territory Licensing Commission**

## **Directions Hearing Decision**

Premises: Shenannigans Irish Pub

69 Mitchell Street Darwin NT 0800

**Applicant:** Shenannigans Irish Pub Pty Ltd

Nominee: Michael Richford

Licence Number: 80315480

**Objectors:** Commander Kate Vanderlaan on behalf of the Northern Territory

Police

Mr John Banks on behalf of the Darwin City Council

**Members:** Mr Richard O'Sullivan

Mrs Jane Large Mr Waly Grimshaw

Attendees: Mr Duncan McConnel instructed by

Mr David De Silva for the Licensee

Mr Graham Buckley for Darwin City Council

Inspector Travis Te Whata for the Director of Licensing

**Date of Hearing:** 9 May 2011

## **Directions Decision**

- 1) Counsel for Shenannigans Irish Pub Pty Ltd, Mr Duncan McConnel sought to establish dates for the conduct of the Hearing. In response the Commission advised of the dates in June and July on which it had vacancy.
- 2) Following a brief adjournment, the Hearing was resumed and all parties agreed that the Hearing would be conducted on 16 June 2011 commencing at 09:30 am.
- 3) Mr McConnel also sought some direction in the tabling of any evidence or documents which were proposed to be presented at the 16 June 2011 Hearing.
- 4) With agreement from Mr McConnel and Mr Graeme Buckley, Counsel for the Darwin City Council, it was determined that all material to be presented as evidence or supporting documentation for presentation at the Hearing was required to be circulated to all parties five working days in advance of the Hearing date.
- 5) The Commission advised Inspector Travis Te Whata, appearing on behalf of the Director of Licensing, that it required information on the hours of trading of clubs, hotels, taverns and bars within the Darwin CBD, including the issue date for these licences. The Commission advised it was seeking information on those licences operative until 2.00 am, 3.00 am and 4.00am and beyond.
- 6) In addition the Commission also sought a copy of the existing Shenannigans Irish Publicence be made available to all parties.

Richard O'Sullivan Chairman

10 May 2011